Interior Design and Home Staging

The Season I Most Look Forward To

I love the feel of the air the first day Spring decides to grace us with it’s presence. It’s moist, not damp. It’s cool, not cold. It’s bright, not grey. I know it’s Spring, not by the melted snow or by the rainbows in the sky, but by the smell of worms that have surfaced from the soil. As odd and yucky as that sounds, it brings a smile to my face, for I know warmer weather is upon us. There’s something about Spring that makes my heart grow a little bigger. Perhaps it’s the associations I have with Springtime… blooming flowers, pastel colours, big fat raindrops. Perhaps it’s the season I look most forward to because I can put another bitter winter behind me. I’m sure that has a lot to do with it 🙂

spring3

Regardless of why, the beauty of what Spring offers ignites new-found inspiration and awe. I feel my eyes aren’t big enough to capture all the postcard worthy Spring sights in nature and in home décor. Don’t get me wrong, I love my fuzzy pillows and throws, but bringing out the vibrant patterned pillows and colourful glass vases, gets my blood pumping and mind racing with a magnitude of styling ideas.

spring7

I face Spring with a rejuvenated attitude, one of getting back to having child-like fun… jumping in puddles, being awe struck by rainbows, getting excited about thunder storms, closing my eyes to take in the sounds of birds singing… oh I could go on and on.

spring8

With the changing of the seasons, new home décor grace the shelves, garden nursery doors burst open and renovation projects get underway.

spring10

TIPS FOR MAKING YOUR HOME FEEL LIKE SPRING:

  • Bring fresh flowers into your home regularly
  • Declutter your home
  • Open your windows to bring in the fresh air
  • Switch out your winter décor for bright vivid accessories
  • Rehang artwork from one room to another
  • Replace older family photos in frames with updated family memories

spring6

Let this season be one of your favourites. I hope it evokes as much emotion and inspiration as it does for me. Happy Spring!

M

This entry was published on March 15, 2015 at 9:00 am. It’s filed under decor, design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment